Siouxsie's Space











{October 31, 2011}   Pink Roses

I went to your grave

yesterday. 

(in my mind)

I dropped pink rose 

petals from a vase

into a bowl of

water and thought

of You. 

(pink roses at Homecoming, remember? 

All four of us, in goofy clothes?)

I haven’t seen your

graveside since the 

day they placed you

in the ground. 

(ashes and dust?)

3 states away and

so many miles to cross-

to find you not there. 

No.

I will stay here and

be disappointed by your

lack of presence.

It is easier to bear, 

here.

All of our old haunts

feel

cold and empty without you.

Global warming, my arse. 

(My friend is dead, and the 

World is Frozen.)

My family is growing up.

I wish you could be

here. 

(or, anywhere, really.)

Life hasn’t stopped 

without you.

Pink roses, just

Aren’t. 

Sll – 9/26/2011 3:45p.m.

claudia says:

pink roses seem just to be the right flowers… when my dad died i was 17 and for a long time i didn’t go to the grave even living in the same city..i always felt i wouldn’t find him there.. enjoyed your poem..a lot..

Liked by 1 person



Siouxsie says:

Thank you so much, Claudia. I am sorry about your father, but I understand what you mean, exactly. Your comments always mean so much to me. (hugs)

Like



Siouxsie says:

Reblogged this on Siouxsie’s Space and commented:

This is from quite a while ago, when I lost the best friend I ever had. Thought I would revist it .

Like



Questions? Comments? Hate mail? Love mail? Constructive criticism? Leave them here!

et cetera
